#PerksofDatingMe

Last night, scrolling through my Twitter feed I noticed a few tongue-in-cheek posts to the #perksofdatingme trend. While some of them made me straight L-O-L, I noticed a disturbing amount of women posting legitimate reasons why men will find dating them awesome and it made me cringe.  I found myself beginning to reply to many of these women and quickly ran out of character space. Oh, Twitter! 

You know how I love lists and bullet points, so I thought it better to compose a list of the most common reasons women posted why they should be your next GFF with some healthier alternatives that will actually make you a better, happier girlfriend.

1.) #PerksofDatingMe-I love sports, and video games, and dirt, cuz I’m totally just like a guy #FORREALZ

You don’t have to have all the same interests of a guy that you want to date. You have a long road ahead of you if your feel like you have to embrace all of your partner’s hobbies and interests in order to keep him pining for you. Having separate interests is really healthy because you have time to miss each other and new things to talk about. Trust me, my wonderful husband plays D&D every Wednesday and I’d sooner run a marathon than roll a D6. I take that night to catch up with my own friends or do something that I like to do that he doesn’t; like eat sushi and watch Girls.

2.) #PerksofDatingMe-You never have to take me on a date or spend money on me cuz I am just happy to be with you!

Really? You’re content to be with someone that decided to ask you out because they don’t have to put any work into the relationship? Have fun with THAT. Any self respecting woman knows that she is bringing a lot to the table and should never settle for a man that can’t be bothered to do the same.

3.) #PerksofDating me-I care about your feelings more than mine so I’ll always put you before myself

This is called co-dependence. The other C word. You have to recognize that being a good partner doesn’t mean sacrificing your own feelings to make the other person happy. Too many women fall into this trap. When a man loves you he will be willing to meet you half way and compromise to make sure that you are happy too. That’s  love.

I also don’t take this whole trend too seriously and thank god these people didn’t either! Here is a sample of my favorites:

#perksofdatingme I can differentiate between their, there, and they’re

#PerksOfDatingMe I can out drink you… so you will never be the most embarrassing person at the party.

 #PerksOfDatingMe I will show you off to the world like this:
Embedded image permalink
One other tip before I go! Instead of posting why people should date you online, let The Real Matchmakers do the work for you! TheRealMatchmaker.com
Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

